Über Media Control
Über den Deutschen Medienpreis
Über das Medici
Deutscher Medienpreis 2014 an Jogi Löw
Deutscher Medienpreis 2013 an Königin Maxima der Niederlande
Deutscher Medienpreis 2012 an George Clooney
Deutscher Medienpreis 2011 an Stanislav Petrow, Dr. Sakena Yacoobi, Dr. Denis Mukwege und Dr. Mitri Raheb
Deutscher Medienpreis 2010 an Richard Branson
Deutscher Medienpreis 2009 an Bundeskanzlerin Angela Merkel
Deutscher Medienpreis 2008 an den Dalai Lama
Deutscher Medienpreis 2007 an Steffi Graf und Andre Agassi
Deutscher Medienpreis 2006 an Juan Carlos I.
Deutscher Medienpreis 2005 an Bono
Deutscher Medienpreis 2004 an Hillary Clinton
Deutscher Medienpreis 2003 an UN-Generalsekretär Kofi Annan
Deutscher Medienpreis 2002 an Königin Silvia von Schweden und Königin Rania von Jordanien
Deutscher Medienpreis 2001 an Rudolph Giuliani
Deutscher Medienpreis 2000 an Gerhard Schröder
Deutscher Medienpreis 1999 an Bill Clinton
Deutscher Medienpreis 1998 an Nelson Mandela

Fotocredit: dpa Picture-Alliance GmbH
Deutscher Medienpreis 2012
Pressemeldung vom 14.12.2012
Press release, 14.12.2012
Pressemeldung vom 19.02.2013
Press release, 19.02.2013
Video der Preisverleihung ( low | mid | high )


Deutscher Medienpreis 2012 to be presented to George Clooney

The Oscar winner will receive an award as a peace activist for the first time in Germany

Baden-Baden, 14 December 2012 - The actor, film director, and screenwriter, who is not only an extraordinary film icon but also a one-of-a-kind activist for humanitarian issues who works hard to bring about peace, thus making him the focus of worldwide media attention unlike any other celebrity, will be presented with the prize in Baden-Baden on 26 February 2013.

In the Jury’s opinion, the Oscar winner exploits his popularity and fame to the full in order to draw attention to crises and conflicts that the public has all but forgotten. Particular mention is made of his commitment to those who have been threatened for many years by starvation, rape and murder in Sudan’s Darfur Region. Clooney has visited refugee camps and war zones and has addressed the United Nations Security Council.

The magazine Newsweek called Clooney on its cover a “21st-Century Statesman” and described him as a man who was politically effective without being a politician. The particular impact of his “celebrity diplomacy” has become clear on several occasions in the last few months. For example, he was arrested with his father on 16 March this year at a demonstration in front of the Sudanese Embassy, he just missed being hit in a bombing raid in Sudan and he contracted malaria during a visit to a refugee camp there. Things like this would deter some activists but Clooney uses his fame to ensure that more attention is paid to an issue of particular concern to him.

In giving their reasons for their choice, the Jury said the mobilisation of public opinion and the publicity gained had become a bulwark against atrocities and violence. Clooney’s words and actions, as well as his pictures and documentations, give vulnerable human beings who are pushed aside with no protection a face, a voice and hope.

Media Control has awarded the Prize since 1992 to outstanding personalities. Previous winners of the Prize have been Helmut Kohl, François Mitterrand, Yasser Arafat, Yitzhak Rabin, Boris Yeltsin, King Hussein of Jordan, Nelson Mandela, Bill Clinton, Gerhard Schröder, Rudolph Giuliani, Queen Silvia of Sweden, Queen Rania of Jordan, Kofi Annan, Hillary Clinton, Bono, King Juan Carlos of Spain, Andre Agassi and Steffi Graf, His Holiness the Dalai Lama, Chancellor Angela Merkel and Sir Richard Branson.

Download: DMP winners (.pdf)


Press contact:
Press office Deutscher Medienpreis
Augustaplatz 8
76530 Baden-Baden
Telefon: +49 (0)7221/366-505
E-Mail: presse@deutscher-medienpreis.de


Press release: 14 December 2012 at 10:45 am